top of page

WORST day in Korea!

Day 5, 13 Sept 2017

We woke up to home-cooked korean breakfast again. Haha cooked us pork and I enjoyed it a lot :) Our first stop today was Nami island. Our mode of transport today was taxi and it became one of our worst choices we made so far in Korea. Why? cos the cab fare was a crazy 79200 won from Seoul to Nami. It took us roughly about an hour an a half to reach there. We might as well take the subway and train right? Haha but too late, the bad decision has already been made and who would thought that the fare would be a whooping 96 SGD. (fml) Even though it was split among the 3 of us, it was hands down the most expensive cab ride I have ever taken in my life :') RIP WALLET

Haha moving on (trying to put this behind us), we rented the bikes at nami and began our own cycling tour. The island was quite small and to be honest I am not sure how we covered it in an hour.. maybe it was just that we missed out some parts but oh wells! It's not the first time I have been here so maybe that's why it had little to no appeal to me. It was probably not the best season to come here cos we were about a few weeks too early to witness the autumn foliage. I think October would be a better month :)

Anyways, our next stop was Petite France. We left Nami rather late and did not have time for Garden of the morning calm. From the pictures I have seen online, I think it was a pity that we did not get to go there. They looked so beautiful! Hmm, my thoughts and reviews of the places today? Overall I felt nami island was boring but I would recommend here if if you have never been here before. :) The neat line of tall trees could be of your liking. Petite france actually was not bad at all. It did not disappoint me one bit. I strongly recommend petite france over nami island hahah, it had the same ambience as Lavender cottage in Taiwan. Very similar! It was really peaceful & the weather was lovely. I enjoyed myself and the atmosphere in the whole park was one of a kind! They had a lot of school girls coming in too. All in all, it was the lovely weather made the trip here beautiful :)

We headed to Itaewon for dinner. Hmm but they were interested in trying some disgusting pork meat & average ginseng chicken soup hahaha. I didn't eat more than 2 small pieces of the pork cos it was just revolting to me :/ I hate such food and also the soup was very bland and herbal (Samgyetang supposed to be like that tho). I honestly think I really don't like korean food hahaa sorry except for the fried chicken 😬. I mean we all have our taste preferences uh haha.

Okay after our dinner we rushed our way to Namsam tower, our last one stop for the day. Was quite lost on how to get there hahaha cos the taxi driver told us that no cabs were allowed to go up the path. So we had to take a shuttle bus up the hill. We received help from a few locals on the way there too. Most locals are always willing to lend a helping hand :)

We barely spent 25 minutes at Namsam tower cos we reached around 10:15pm and the tower and shops closes when it was nearing 11pm. Okay this problem was not a first. I would say the average pace of travelling was pretty fast due to our bad planning & discipline. We turned in every night about 3-4am? and woke up late on everyday. All these few bad habits totalled up to many lost hours and caused us to give up some places of attraction. Or more often that not, we would rush through each destination and not seeing everything it has to offer. Hahah. We should have known better.. Hahah, no worries anyways. The view from Namsam tower wasn't all that very appealing afterall. Lately a lot of things are going not as per planned. I am sorry but my mood is pretty bad too. hmmm, yesh, my legs died on the way down.

Yes, you heard that right.. my legs died. I am pretty sure Koreans are kind of fit especially their aging population. Why do I say that? Because many public places have stairs, stairs and more stairs. Hahah we had to walk 1.2km worth of stairs. It was downhill and I must admit the path down was seriously torturous. To make matters worse, after our painful descend, we got lost. To people who are thinking of visiting the Namsan tower and have weak legs like mine, please take the bus up/down and do not try to walk downwards. You have been warned. :') After walking aimlessly, and attempting to hitch a hike but to no avail, we found a bus stop and it took us to a subway station in Gangnam. I followed Nathan's directions and we finally reached samgakji and our apartment. But at the point of time I was feeling goddamn horrible. I felt like going home there and then. I have gotten all quiet already. I hated today a lot . I just felt very left out and detached.. somewhat distant suddenly.. (To nathan and teng if you guys were to read this, sorry if I felt that way. ) I am quite taken aback that travelling could be so unhappy too. Sighs what a depressing day, I can't really explain my feelings either. Ha, I guess life is full of ups and downs and this applies to travelling as well. Today was just one of the downs. A major one to me.

bottom of page